Circle Pictures Redux

Back in December, I posted some images I’d made by dropping non-overlapping circles on an image, larger or smaller based on the brightness of the underlying pixel at that spot. I called them Circle Pictures.

At the time, I was happiest with the black-and-white images; I liked the color ones less. I think I’ve figured out how to make the color images work better; a lot of it comes down to picking the right kind of image to start with. (High-contrast images of recognizable objects works well, especially isolated images.) I also used a broader range of circle sizes, added borders, and played with how the circle size is decided: based on brightness, or saturation, or the amount of blue…any data in the pixel is fair game. The code is basically the same, so I won’t bother re-posting it.

Here are some of the results, including a repeat of the sunflower images. I’ll be showing prints of some of these, and some others like them, at City Wide Open Studios at the Armory space, October 11 and 12, if you’d like to see them up-close.

Here are the source images:

Image Credits

The tree is my least-favorite outcome, but the source image is from John Buchanan’s poetry site. The gorilla source image is from what looks like a Rwanda tourism site. The sea turtle source image is by digivangelist. The turtle with fish source image is from wallpapersak.com. The yellow striped fish source image is by FarzinPhoto. The sea horse source image is from this National Geographic article.

 

3 thoughts on “Circle Pictures Redux

  1. Hey Dan, we met during CWOS… I was the engineer who did the stairway installation. Do you have any images of those really graphic framed circle pieces online anywhere? Could you post those if possible? They were amazing!

    Jonathan

  2. Hey Dan, we met during CWOS… I was the engineer who did the stairway installation. Do you have any images of those really graphic framed circle pieces online anywhere? Could you post those if possible? They were amazing!

    Jonathan

Comments are closed.