New Job, No School!

I’ve been working for over 6 years for large corporations, but last week I accepted a job offer to work at a much smaller company — I’ll be employee 6 (or 7, if you count the intern). I’m really excited, my family’s excited, my current co-workers keep telling me I’ll be missed, and my new co-workers can’t wait for me to start, so it’s a pretty good time. And just because that’s how life goes, I’ll also earn my B.S. in Computer Science after 10 years of full- and part-time study.

But why mention it here? A few reasons:

  • The new job is with .Net, and my background (so far) is in J2EE. I like the thought of seeing the other side, and doing a balanced compare-and-contrast. To borrow from Neal Stephenson, “nothing teaches you about your home country like visiting a different one.” [My first impression of the differences is that Java aims to be open, but at the cost of consistency, completeness, and cohesiveness; .Net is more consistent, complete, and cohesive, but closed. That’s very general, so flame away.] Outcome: new posts.
  • My copy of the pick-axe just came in. I’ll spend the week between jobs learning some .Net, of course, but also firming up my Ruby skills. Meta-programming, dynamic typing, closures, continuations…So many neat things to learn about! Outcome: new posts.
  • I think it’s safe to call me an autodidact. Going to school was frustrating because there are so many neat things to learn, and I have to follow the curriculum. [What a whiner!] In any case, no class means I can brush off G.E.B., maybe Zen, finish Flatterland, and some other things. Outcome: probably new posts.

I’m really looking forward to the new job, and to no school. All within a few weeks of each other. It should be a good summer…

4 thoughts on “New Job, No School!

  1. Congrats on the new job; and the small company. I’m sure you’ll end up with a much more varied skill set in the long run.

    .NET is an interesting beast; I like it based on my usage. Are you going to be doing ASP.NET specifically, or generic .NET?

    Are you actually going to be using Ruby on the job, or is it just something you want to learn?

  2. Thanks!

    I’ll be using both ASP.Net and general .Net, I believe. [Any of the guys there can correct me…I’m still learning.]

    Ruby is just for fun, I think. I’ve been trying to learn it for awhile, but school and life make time scarce. My main thought is that it’s a fun language, and pretty different from Java, so it’s broadening my horizons. There IS a library for embedding Ruby in .Net, though… ;-)

  3. Dan,

    As you know, and stated, we are very excited to have you join us. It is my personal opinion that you will be the 6.5th employee, but that is up for argument.

    Anyway, you were correct in your answer to Jeff’s question. We use .NET for everything. It is the framework that our product is built on. Because it is mainly a web-based application, you will be primarily working in ASP.NET. But we do use the .NET framework for other applications, such as web services, command line interfaces, Win Forms, etc. I believe that is what Jeff is referring to as “generic” .NET.

    As for Ruby, we were looking at some tools and you might just get a chance to get paid to play. Now that you are joining us, you have opened a few more doors. So, some of your playtime may pay off!

  4. Congrats on the new job. Speaking as a “co-slacker”, you will surely be missed ofcourse. But, I am very excited about your new gig. It was definatly time for you to move on. Congrats again & Good Luck…

    P.S — I will keep a look out for status on how the new project is going.–>

Comments are closed.